Thar She Blows

Thar She Blows

Afraid of dying? Have to wait to see.
But when death’s finally out of my way,
there’ll be no gravestones with epitaphs for me.

And know:
I won’t be buried in no body’s grave.

Burn me. My ashes scatter,
preferably somewhere beautiful near the sea
or in it for that matter.

Oh yes,
that’ll be my choice when it’s time to go.

And if scattering’s still illegal
bake me up in a loaf of sour dough
then toss me to soaring sea gulls.

Trust them,
for they’re sure to scatter me far and wide.

Later, if sadness overtakes you,
head for a place where strong trees abound.
After, a tear or two, breathe
draw in strength from nature all around.

Then stand, face the wind…
my embrace, welcome dear friend.

©March 2011_M. Anita Bailey_revised

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thar She Blows

  1. Pingback: On Death and Epitaphs | Fodder4Writing

  2. Morning says:

    powerful.
    Glad to see you share.
    Smiles.

    Happy Picnic.

  3. emanita01 says:

    Hi Morning. Thanks. Glad you appreciate that I share 😀

    Thanks for dropping by.

    Happy Picnic to you to!

  4. Pingback: RoughWaterJohn Passes on The Seven Links Challenge v2.0 Gauntlet | Fodder4Writing

Leave a Reply

