From “I Shut My Eyes in Order to See”

I shut my eyes in order to see.
Paul Gauguin
French Post-Impressionist painter (1848 – 1903)
Prose below inspired by Gauguin’s words:

Hurt
Blinded, my eyes shut … to see me.
Baffled, my ears shut … to hear me.

Betrayed, my heart shuts… to save me.
Hope

Slowly, my eyes open…I see me.

Softly, my mouth opens…I hear me.

Strongly, my heart opens…I love me.

©M. Anita Bailey_May 2011

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Brookline, Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to From “I Shut My Eyes in Order to See”

  1. leonargo says:

    Profoundly beautiful…. I love every bit of it and feel a deep connection with it… my only issue, my opinion, is I think Strongly, my heart opens… I know it sounds arrogant but I feel a heart IS stronger for overcoming hurt … I understand it may seem shyly for it is not abrupt and does not encroach upon others … lets say I wish it could be BOTH. Its just that strong and shy never seemed to me to be anything but polar opposites… just my two cents.

  2. emanita01 says:

    Hello Leonargo. Thanks for dropping by. Glad this speaks to you ;-D

    I agree wholeheartedly with the modification you’ve penned. When I first penned “shyly”, I wasn’t that happy with it…and now, you’ve shown why!
    So, I will note the original words here: “Shyly, my heart opens…I love me.”
    …and then I shall promptly edit the original line.

    Know that I know that such a fitting modification could only come from one who has felt the essence of my prose. And for this, I humbly thank you. ;-D

  3. leonargo says:

    No, thank you for being open to my thoughts 🙂

    I look at the line now and I see the contrast between Softly, my mouth opens.. and Strongly, my heart opens. I feel that in life we let our mind, which more often than not leads to speech, be stronger than our heart, and we say what we do not want, and often loud as well… Our hearts should be stronger and be given more trust. I think this is how people reach a higher place of truth…. Therefore the mouth speaking softly is perfect… the heart being stronger is perfect. (I rarely like the word perfect but I feel this to be so, for this)

    I love this poem so much now :)))

  4. Morning says:

    smart conveying of your sadness.

    well done poetry.

  5. William Leed says:

    Beautiful. Few words can say so much and reach deep.
    William Leed

  6. at times, we simply need to write, revise later, random thoughts could be masterful.

    love it.

  7. Pingback: RoughWaterJohn Passes on The Seven Links Challenge v2.0 Gauntlet | Fodder4Writing

Leave a Reply

