My Little Girl’s Sad Today

A grown woman, today I carry the sadness of a little girl.

Why did they leave me out, as if I were a modern-day Cinderella?
I think I’m actually in shock. I watch, confused, yet perform as expected.

“I” tries to give answers to “Me”, yet no grown-up logic or explanation to “Myself” can help shake off such profound sadness. Once again a child, “Me” understands neither logic nor grown-up talk.

On the outside, once again with nose pressed against a window, “I” watches searching anew for answers.

Back at home, I roam from sofa to bed to kitchen to comfy sitting chair in search of more warmth than the momentary kind that radiates from a cup of tea. I need something stronger.

Alone, in my child’s skin, in my adult home I wander searching for the comfort of my grand mom’s arms.

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Little Girl’s Sad Today

  1. I know what you mean. Sometimes I look at me, and wonder how I got to be him.

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/25/one-she-beckons-me-come-2/

  2. William Leed says:

    I think we all can see ourselves in this web of emotions.
    Well done! Will be checking back on you again.
    William Leed

  3. Pingback: My Grandmother | Fodder4Writing

  4. Pingback: RoughWaterJohn Passes on The Seven Links Challenge v2.0 Gauntlet | Fodder4Writing

Leave a Reply

