Welcome Anew

It exists, the type of place
I’d need to live in
to protect me from you.

It’s a place others see as their tomorrow
but that I regard through eyes of sorrow.

For I do not wish to become all square, gray and shut in, estranged from my heart.

So, keeping you at bay,
I will open my heart,
to let it bask in the sun of a new day.

Outside, only you shall come up against my defenses.
But for others, there’ll be no barbed wire, no more fences.

I will dawn a smile that’s truly mine
and let my warmth, my love shine
as I hold up my new “Welcome” sign.

©M. Anita Bailey 2011

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome Anew

  1. Leonargo says:

    Love the rhythm of this, flows like honey. 🙂 dont get stuck in that house though ;P

    • emanita01 says:

      Hi L. Thanks for dropping in. Glad you like this one. it’s been rolling around in the back of my mind ever since I first saw the photo of that house.

      Not too worry, though, no intention of getting stuck in there for I need the sun’s rays far too much ;-D

Leave a Reply

