My next challenge: A Sestina

The sestina was invented by a Provencal troubadour named Arnaud Daniel in the twelfth century…It’s a difficult form, with even more of a mind of its own than most other forms, perhaps beacause of its length.

A sestina consists of 39 lines: six six-line stances–hence its name–plus a three-line coda (a coda, or envoy, is a closing formal refrain). The end-words…/…of the first six lines are repeated in a set pattern, as if turned inside out, in the next five stanzas.

An extract taken from Peter Meinke’s The Shape of Poetry, A Practical Guide to Writing Poetry.

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Brookline, Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My next challenge: A Sestina

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    I have struggled with the sestina form for months now – just can’t seem to get it right. Grrrrrrrrrr

  2. you are quite a talent.

    welcome sharing your poetry with us today,

    first time participants can link in 1 to 3 random poems, you can also write for our challenge.

    • emanita01 says:

      Hello to you The Gooseberry Garden. Thank you for your kind words and your invitation which I accept with pleasure. I may be wrong, but perhaps I have linked one of my poems. I’ll check on this, but am pleased to have the opportunity to link several more.

      Happy picnic 😀

Leave a Reply

