Bluebell Wk 11/2011

Light and Breezy
02 October 2, 2011

I do recall when life was light and breezy,
blowing rainbow-colored bubbles
and eating cotton candy.
That was before the nightly visits began.

Blowing rainbow-colored bubbles?
Yes, when I was five or six.
That was before the nightly visits began.
Told mom about it, wasn’t I supposed to?

Yes…when I was five…or six.
It was odd, the look that came into her eyes.
Told mom, about it… Wasn’t I? Supposed to?
No words, she walked from the room.

It was odd, the look that came into her eyes.
A loud “bang” shattered the silence.
No words, she walked from the room.
The memory’s become clouded.

A loud “bang” shattered the silence.
Years later, I drift off to sleep…
The memory’s become clouded.
Had it really been only a nightmare mom?

Years later, I drift off to sleep…
I no longer need the lights on.
Had it really been only a nightmare mom?
…deep, deep, uninterrupted sleep.

I no longer need the lights on.
In the morning, I take my daughters to the park.
Deep, deep uninterrupted sleep…
Today, I feel like taking a walk,

like blowing rainbow-colored bubbles
and eating cotton candy.
Today, I am free. Thanks mom,
I do recall when life was light and breezy.

Emanita01 says: This is in response to a photo prompt from Bluebell Books for Short Story Slam Week 11.

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bluebell Wk 11/2011

  1. Write Girl says:

    Your poem is just that…light and breezy. Lovely verses.

  2. Wow! This is deep and painful to read. Very good writing! Excellent!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/bubbles-and-lies/

  3. moving, you truly spend time on it.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

