Haven’t Heard From You Lately.

Marina morning by RoughWaterJohn the Pirate

Haven’t heard from you lately. Have you forgotten
from whence our WE sprouted? Oh, for sure it was
a four-way WE when it all started.
And, yet, I know, the heart…my heart…

from whence “our” we sprouted. Oh…four? Sure it was!
Our little community’s a nice meeting of minds… Yet
know, the heart…my heart…
The matter is…Yes, what lie shall I spin today?

Our little community’s a nice meeting of minds… Yet
though distance be an obstacle, or my heart’s safekeeping,
the matter is…? Yes: What lie shall I spin today?
Enough! Time’s passed and….? And, no words have I written.

Though distance be an obstacle, or my heart’s safekeeping…
I’ve envisioned a voyage to make …but never…
Enough time’s passed. And? And, no words have I written.
What would arise if I showed up suddenly, so smitten?

I’ve envisioned a voyage two make …but never…
A reality that’s missing? Or, perhaps a simple commonality.
What would arise if I showed up, suddenly, so smitten?
Would ye be amused? Toss me a lot of yarn? Return to yer kitchen?

A reality, that’s missin’. Or, perhaps a simple commonality…
the feeling’s strong…yet, there’s fear to hedge… so, at best…
Would ye be amused? Toss me a lot of yarn? Return to yer kitchen?
I await the post, settle, search amongst your words for something.

The feeling’s strong…yet, there’s fear to hedge… so, at best…
I mull over it, mull it over. Seeing hundreds of other faces,
I await the post, settle, search amongst your words for some thing
to read… in-between the comments.

I hadn’t expected I’d want anything other than (more than?)
a four-way WE when it all started. And, yet, I
don’t share. What’s now been kindled, I reserve for two.
Haven’t heard from you lately. Have you forgotten?

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Questions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Haven’t Heard From You Lately.

  1. I do not think he has forgotten I think he will remember soon and call. I hope so it was so lovely and so well done thanks for sharing
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/03/memories-and-photographs-of-you/#comment-1370

  2. David King says:

    A graceful and moving poem with a satisfying structure – all one can ask for, really!

  3. Morning says:

    love it,

    very well structured and plotted.

    🙂

  4. emanita01 says:

    Thanks, Morning 🙂

  5. Pingback: RoughWaterJohn Passes on The Seven Links Challenge v2.0 Gauntlet | Fodder4Writing

  6. you did an amazing job here.

    🙂

  7. I really enjoyed this; I won’t pretend to know the story behind it, but it’s very well written and comes to a very satisfying conclusion.

  8. emanita01 says:

    Hi halfwaybetweenthegutter. Welcome to my blog ;-D
    The story behind’s simply inspiration from real life with a twist. So, it’s merely a case of fiction in poetry.
    Thanks for your feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

