Being Tired Ain’t What it Used to Be!

Once upon a time,
I’d soak in a nice hot bath,
climb out and leave tired muscles behind.

Yesterday, I soaked my tired self
in a nice hot bath and found
my muscles had left ME behind.

It took over ten minutes
to escape from the tub!

Hmmmm, would Prison Break’s script writers be interested in the scenario?

Then, guess what I learned today?
This could get worse!

Read on:

Three absent-minded sisters*

Three sisters, aged 81, 83 and 85, live together.
One night the 85-year-old draws a bath for herself.
As she sticks her foot in, she pauses.
She yells to her sisters downstairs, “Was I getting in or out of the bath?”

The 83-year-old shouts back loudly, “I don’t know. Let me come up there and see.”
She begins walking up the stairs, but then pauses.
She yells to her sisters, “Was I going up the stairs or down?”

The 81-year-old is sitting in the living room, enjoying some tea.
She listens to her sisters, shakes her head and mutters to herself,
“I sure hope I never get that forgetful. Knock on wood.”
She then turns and shouts,
“I’ll come up there and help both of you as soon as I see who’s knocking at the door.”

*Source : http://livelonger.hubpages.com/hub/Old_people_jokes

Note from Emanita01: Original post was modified to become a Bluebell Books’ Short Story Slam Week 14 submission.

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

