Test? What Test?

A funny thing happened to me on my way to crossing the Swiss border into France.
We approached the control point with Pink’s “So What I am a Rock Star” blaring. I was switching back and forth between chatting with my teenager and singing at the top of my lungs.

So what if it was near 1 o’clock in the morning?

We’d just finished the ninth performance of our comedy musical, Jack & the Beanstalk, and theย  public reviews had been enthralling!

I was riding high on fatigue and adrenalin.

“Mom?”

“What?”

“Er, looks like they’re doing alcotests.”

“Ooooooooooooh! Great! I’ve never done one of those before!”

The expression on my son’s face was/and still is…LOL…indescribable!

“MoOOOOOOMMMM! Turn the music down!”

“Why? I like this song!”

“Did you drink anything tonite?”

“Nope!”

“And you’re HAPPY about taking this test?”

“Yep!”

“They’re not going to believe it when they see you!”

“Not my problem! Don’t care! Don’t need no drugs, no alcohol to be me…It’s all 100% natural! Tralala lala…”

“You’re really nuts, mom!”

“Yep!”

My son watched with bemused anticipation.

There were at least five customs officers. The first two each had fistfuls of the miniature alcotests. They waved me to continue. The next three had flashlights. They seemed poised to search every nook and cranny of the cars they stopped.

And yet, as I approached, their demeanor changed. There was just the slightest of eye exchanges and then the Clint Eastern-go-ahead-make-my-day type waved me onwards.

As we continued on, I picked up speed then faked a wail.

“Oooooooooooooooh, it’s not fair! It’s just not fair! I was so looking forward to them making MY night!”

“Mom, you know you’re crazy right?”

“Yep!”

We chuckled together in total conspiration ;-D

Funny Bunny Fridays Week 5 (December 2-11, 2011) aka A Purple Treehouse submission

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Humor, Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Test? What Test?

  1. I grew up with a fun-loving, crazy mom, too, so I know how your son feels! Nice one, Emanita!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/12/02/dang-that-dog/

  2. Morning says:

    a creative dialogue, what fun.

    Smiles,

    you rock, girl.

  3. great writing.

    How is your day?

    Time flies, appreciated your handsome inputs to our poetry picnic.

    Share a poem today.
    Bless you.
    Happy December,
    Enjoy A Wonderful Wednesday Ahead.

    xoxox

    • emanita01 says:

      Hi there The Gooseberry Garden of Jingle Poetry! Thank you for all your kind words. Hope your Wednesday was a great one! Mine? A bit hectic, but utterly positive ๐Ÿ˜€

      Will share another poem as soon as I can ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. emanita01 says:

    Hello there The Cello Strings. Glad you liked this one. Your comments do catch the mood we were in…LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Ohh.. you are such a trouble maker. I sure hope your son inherited it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. shail says:

    I loved reading this ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

