Jingle Poetry At The Gooseberry Garden Poetry Picnic Week 19

Sunday, December 25, 2011

Written for the Poetry Picnic Week 19: Forgiveness, Gift, Holiday Songs, and Traditions

“Fresh eyes & insights and new beginnings…” Yes,
I’ve made progress over these last years…
Your offense, I no longer take…
Justification for my acts, I no longer make.

I’ve made progress over these last years… But
I cannot say I’ve staunched all my tears. No…Yet,
justification for my acts, I no longer make,
and, I HAVE made peace with those who’ve been blind…

I cannot say that I’ve staunched all my tears. No, yet,
I’ve gotten on living my life, adding more and more…
And I’ve made peace with those who’ve been blind…
Yes… and I waste less time with those not similar in mind.

I’ve gotten on living my life, adding more and more…
You know: new places to go, people to meet, things to see…
Yes! And I waste less time with those not similar in mind.
Thus I’ve begun MY walk towards recovery.

While you, you wallow in self imposed misery.
Your offense, I no longer take…
Know: Peace within cannot be faked. What do you need?  Here’s my guess:
Fresh eyes & insights and new beginnings… Yes.

A freshly-penned poem. Inspiration. That’s what resulted from reading Forgiveness in the Moment, and participating in this morning’s New Moon Session.

For those of you who may not know to what I am referring, here’s an extract of what Debbie Moran’s wrote in her invitation to join the December 24th, 2011 New Moon Session:

“When we recall the past it is always willing to show up again.

The challenge is to recognize this and change our perceptions around the memories to allow “fresh eyes & insights and new beginnings”.

When we give ourselves just enough wiggle room in our thoughts about the way things should be, it opens the door to allow something even beyond our imaginations and taps us into Grace.

When we change our attitudes around a person or situation we allow that person or situation to be different.

This is reprogramming old habits and ways of thinking. We are always being given the option to choose differently.

So next time you find an old habit feeling like it’s taking over, simply take a breath, say hello old friend, I appreciate your help in the past and you no longer need to “protect me” so I set you free.

Then take another breath and imagine as that habit waves goodbye and walks out into the sunset.

Then add a third breath to open yourself to a new pattern and a new way of being to fill up that space with light and fresh perspectives.”

About emanita01

I am a Franco-american woman who hails from Massachusetts. I live in France near the Swiss border, only minutes away from Geneva. I am a member of the Geneva Writers Group and the Association La Forge, a literary group based in France. I write stories, poems and am currently working on a couple of plays, a one-woman show and a dramatized poem.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jingle Poetry At The Gooseberry Garden Poetry Picnic Week 19

  1. This is beautiful, Marilyn. So cleansing and freeing. I believe in new beginnings, and I believe they can happen with each breath we take; each move we make. Merry Christmas!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/12/25/the-best-christmas-ever/

  2. Morning says:

    love this,

    we offend unintentionally, we are hurt by someone as well.
    forgiveness is a key to love and live, move forward.

    Cheers.
    Merry Christmas.

    • emanita01 says:

      Thanks Morning. I once read somewhere that if you do not go in to find peace, then you go without. That’s why I liked when my muse came up with:

      Know: Peace within cannot be faked.

      Happy holidays to you 🙂

  3. Natalie says:

    happy new year.

    thanks for your support to poets rally, you are given the perfect poet award for week 59, feel free to take it, share with us today.
    best regards.

    smiles.

    🙂

    • emanita01 says:

      Oh, dear…I AM behind! Thank you for the award. If it’s still there, I’ll collect in the next few days. I’ve missed writing… hope to get back into it OR at least to recover & polish some of the notes I’ve been jotting down on all those crumpled napkins & loose bits of paper…LOL!

Leave a Reply

